Biodiversity management and unplanned fires

Edit: Missed my seminar? You can listen to a recording with a copy of the slides:

http://unimelb.adobeconnect.com/p913xeq1mjx/

I’m doing a seminar today at Creswick on fire and biodiversity (9:30 a.m., Melbourne time). My talk will discuss unplanned fires, how their incidence can be modelled to predict impacts on biodiversity, and then how those impacts can be managed. A key point I wish to make is that unplanned fires should be anticipated and that relatively simple models can help understand their impacts.

 

I’ll draw on research from my PhD (20 years ago!), plus some more recent work such as this, this, and this.

If you’d like to listen, I believe the seminar will be streamed live via the link on this page.

Creswick is one of The University of Melbourne’s regional campuses. QAECO is here for a retreat, but it is a bit of a nostalgia trip for me – I spent two years of my undergraduate degree on this campus.

The University of Melbourne campus at Creswick is delightful, and a complete nostalgia trip for me (photo by Peter Vesk; https://twitter.com/pveski/status/540247445121167360/photo/1)

The University of Melbourne campus at Creswick is delightful, and a complete nostalgia trip for me (photo by Peter Vesk)

About Michael McCarthy

I conduct research on environmental decision making and quantitative ecology. My teaching is mainly at post-grad level at The University of Melbourne.
Image | This entry was posted in Communication, Detectability and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.